June 2, 2017 School Visit, Onondaga Junior/Senior High School

Julie will present and give workshops to students at Onondaga Junior/Senior High School, Nedrow, New York. Books will be available for pre-order and signing from River’s End Books in Oswego, NY.

June 3, 2017 Thousand Islands Book Festival, Cape Vincent, NY

For more information about the festival, see http://tibookfest.wixsite.com/home.

June 16, 2017 Keynote Address, Writing and Illustrating for Young Readers Conference, Sandy, UT

Visit http://www.wifyr.com/ for more information.

June 17, 7 pm, The King’s English, Salt Lake City, Launch Celebration for The Emperor’s Ostrich!

Join the wild ostrich rumpus! Salt Lake City will host the first launch event for my new release, The Emperor’s Ostrich, a whimsical middle grade about an errant milkmaid, a spoiled emperor, a would-be rescuer of damsels, several scoundrels, and an unlikely case of ostrich-cow romance. 7 p.m. at The King’s English, 1511 1500 E, Salt Lake City, UT.

What reviewers are saying:

  • “Berry works a kind of magic with this enchanting adventure.” – Booklist, starred review.
  • “The Emperor’s Ostrich is wild, inventive, funny, and touching. Berry’s writing is full of unexpected and delightful moments and turns. I loved it!” –Ally Condie, #1 NYT bestselling author of Matched and Summerlost
  • “A fantastic adventure, full of humor and heart, for fans of Lloyd Alexander, Miyazaki, or just good stories!” —Jessica Day George, NYT bestselling author of Wednesdays in the Tower

 

June 22, 2017, 8:30-4:30 Follett Lit Festival, Naperville, IL

Julie will participate in panels and workshops at this event, taking place just before the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago. More details to follow.

June 25, 2017 8:30 YALSA Coffee Klatch at ALA Annual Conference, Chicago, IL

July 28-30, 2017 Simmons Summer Institute, Simmons College, Boston, MA

Julie will present at the 2017 Simmons Summer Institute in conversation with Tim Wynne-Jones. Their conversation is called “The Passion Project,” and they will discuss Julie’s The Passion of Dolssa and Tim’s The Emperor of Any Place. For more information about the Institute, click here.

July 31, 2017 4-7 pm Author Visit, Grafton Public Library

Julie will conduct two writing workshops with teens and tweens. For more information and how to register, visit the Grafton Library website. Books will be available for purchase and signing.

September 7-11, 2017 Loon Lake Writing Retreat, Faculty.

Julie will be among the faculty at the Loon Song Writing Retreat, Elbow Lake, Minnesota. For more information, and to register, visit LoonSong.org.

September 14-16, 2017 Keynote & Lecturer at ANWA Writing Conference, Hilton Doubletree, Gilbert, AZ

Julie will be the keynote speaker and a faculty presenter at the 2017 American Night Writers’ Association Conference at the Hilton Doubletree Hotel in Gilbert, Arizona. For more information and to register, visit the conference website.