April 22, 2017 Appearances at L.A. Times Festival of Books, USC Campus

(Friday, April 21, 7 pm, LA Times Book Prize Celebration. Ticketed event.)

Saturday, April 22 Events

2-2:45 pm Julie will sign books in the Pages: A Bookstore / Penguin Young Readers Group booth, #708. Come say hi, get your books signed, & take selfies!

3:00 pm Julie joins a YA author panel, “Faith, Hope, and Charity: Strong Girls in Crisis,” moderated by Jonathan Hunt and including Francis Hardinge and Sonya Sones. The event is Conversation #1134 in the Norris Cinema Theater. Admission is free. Signing to follow.


4:00 pm Signing with Francis Hardinge & Sonya Sones in the Norris Cinema Theater.

May 5, 2017 School Visit, Acton Boxboro Regional High School, Acton, MA

Julie will present to English students at Acton Boxboro Regional High School and discuss All the Truth That’s In Me and The Passion of Dolssa. Julie’s visit is sponsored by the high school library.

May 11, 2017 Chenery Author Fair, Chenery Middle School, Belmont, MA

Open to the public! Join a lineup of thirteen authors and illustrators for Chenery’s biggest author festival yet! Free and open to the public. Books available for purchase and signing through Porter Square Books. Join the fun from 3-6 pm!

June 2, 2017 School Visit, Onondaga Junior/Senior High School

Julie will present and give workshops to students at Onondaga Junior/Senior High School, Nedrow, New York. Books will be available for pre-order and signing from River’s End Books in Oswego, NY.

June 3, 2017 Thousand Islands Book Festival, Cape Vincent, NY

For more information about the festival, see http://tibookfest.wixsite.com/home.

June 16, 2017 Keynote Address, Writing and Illustrating for Young Readers Conference, Sandy, UT

Visit http://www.wifyr.com/ for more information.

June 17, 7 pm, The King’s English, Salt Lake City, Launch Celebration for The Emperor’s Ostrich!

Join the wild ostrich rumpus! Salt Lake City will host the first launch event for my new release, The Emperor’s Ostrich, a whimsical middle grade about an errant milkmaid, a spoiled emperor, a would-be rescuer of damsels, several scoundrels, and an unlikely case of ostrich-cow romance. 7 p.m. at The King’s English, 1511 1500 E, Salt Lake City, UT.

What reviewers are saying:

  • “Berry works a kind of magic with this enchanting adventure.” – Booklist, starred review.
  • “The Emperor’s Ostrich is wild, inventive, funny, and touching. Berry’s writing is full of unexpected and delightful moments and turns. I loved it!” –Ally Condie, #1 NYT bestselling author of Matched and Summerlost
  • “A fantastic adventure, full of humor and heart, for fans of Lloyd Alexander, Miyazaki, or just good stories!” —Jessica Day George, NYT bestselling author of Wednesdays in the Tower

 

June 22, 2017, 8:30-4:30 Follett Lit Festival, Naperville, IL

Julie will participate in panels and workshops at this event, taking place just before the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago. More details to follow.

June 25, 2017 8:30 YALSA Coffee Klatch at ALA Annual Conference, Chicago, IL

July 28-30, 2017 Simmons Summer Institute, Simmons College, Boston, MA

Julie will present at the 2017 Simmons Summer Institute in conversation with Tim Wynne-Jones. Their conversation is called “The Passion Project,” and they will discuss Julie’s The Passion of Dolssa and Tim’s The Emperor of Any Place. For more information about the Institute, click here.