COMING SOON!

The Emperor's Ostrich, releasing June 13, 2017 from Roaring Brook Press.
A new tale of magic, mischief, and mayhem! Galloping to a bookstore near you.

Press play above to view the trailer, or below to listen to a clip of the audiobook.

The Amaranth Enchantment

What Reviewers are Saying about The Emperor's Ostrich

Ally Condie

"The Emperor's Ostrich is wild, inventive, funny, and touching. Berry's writing is full of unexpected and delightful moments and turns. I loved it!" --Ally Condie, #1 NYT bestselling author of Matched and Summerlost
2017-05-31T11:53:45+00:00
"The Emperor's Ostrich is wild, inventive, funny, and touching. Berry's writing is full of unexpected and delightful moments and turns. I loved it!" --Ally Condie, #1 NYT bestselling author of Matched and Summerlost

Jessica Day George

"A fantastic adventure, full of humor and heart, for fans of Lloyd Alexander, Miyazaki, or just good stories!" —Jessica Day George, NYT bestselling author of Wednesdays in the Tower
2017-05-31T11:54:54+00:00
"A fantastic adventure, full of humor and heart, for fans of Lloyd Alexander, Miyazaki, or just good stories!" —Jessica Day George, NYT bestselling author of Wednesdays in the Tower

Booklist

"Berry works a kind of magic with this enchanting adventure." Booklist, starred review.
2017-05-31T12:01:02+00:00
★"Berry works a kind of magic with this enchanting adventure." Booklist, starred review.

School Library Journal

"Give it to kids who enjoy a clever story and don’t mind a strong dose of silliness, or to anyone who loves the idea of a cow who becomes besotted with an ostrich." School Library Journal
2017-05-31T12:02:54+00:00
"Give it to kids who enjoy a clever story and don’t mind a strong dose of silliness, or to anyone who loves the idea of a cow who becomes besotted with an ostrich." School Library Journal

Publisher’s Weekly

"A lively, magic-laced folktale ... Whimsical details will delight readers, and the nonstop action will keep them on the edge of their seats." Publisher's Weekly
2017-05-31T12:04:42+00:00
"A lively, magic-laced folktale ... Whimsical details will delight readers, and the nonstop action will keep them on the edge of their seats." Publisher's Weekly

What Reviewers Are Saying About The Passion of Dolssa

Kirkus Review

"Immersive and mesmerizing ... a gorgeously built world." Kirkus Reviews
2016-03-16T01:15:58+00:00
"Immersive and mesmerizing ... a gorgeously built world." Kirkus Reviews

The Horn Book

"Irresistibly compelling…[Berry conveys] complex historical and religious matters fluently and accessibly for today’s readers.” The Horn Book, starred review
2016-03-16T01:21:40+00:00
"Irresistibly compelling…[Berry conveys] complex historical and religious matters fluently and accessibly for today’s readers.” The Horn Book, starred review

School Library Journal

“An expertly crafted piece of historical fiction, Berry’s latest is a must for middle and high school libraries.” School Library Journal, starred review
2016-03-16T01:22:20+00:00
“An expertly crafted piece of historical fiction, Berry’s latest is a must for middle and high school libraries.” School Library Journal, starred review

Publishers Weekly

"Berry again delivers an utterly original and instantly engrossing story…she weaves a tense, moving portrait of these two teenage girls and their struggle to survive against insurmountable odds.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
2016-03-16T01:25:09+00:00
"Berry again delivers an utterly original and instantly engrossing story…she weaves a tense, moving portrait of these two teenage girls and their struggle to survive against insurmountable odds.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

Mette Ivie Harrison

“A beautiful and timeless tale of family and loyalty, friendship and devotion.” Mette Ivie Harrison, author of New York Times Notable Book The Bishop’s Wife
2016-03-16T01:26:23+00:00
“A beautiful and timeless tale of family and loyalty, friendship and devotion.” Mette Ivie Harrison, author of New York Times Notable Book The Bishop’s Wife

Jennifer Donnelly

“Powerful and heartbreaking, The Passion of Dolssa shows us that the voices of dissent can only be silenced for so long. Their echoes carry down the centuries, sounding warnings for our own time. Julie Berry writes the past as if she lived it.” Jennifer Donnelly, New York Times bestselling author of These Shallow Graves
2016-03-16T01:27:33+00:00
“Powerful and heartbreaking, The Passion of Dolssa shows us that the voices of dissent can only be silenced for so long. Their echoes carry down the centuries, sounding warnings for our own time. Julie Berry writes the past as if she lived it.” Jennifer Donnelly, New York Times bestselling author of These Shallow Graves

Elizabeth Wein

“Julie Berry's sweeping tapestry of friendship and belief is both epic and intimate, both sweet and painful.” Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire
2016-03-16T01:28:26+00:00
“Julie Berry's sweeping tapestry of friendship and belief is both epic and intimate, both sweet and painful.” Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire

Nancy Werlin

“Two unique girls, thrown together in a time of change and danger. One transcendent reading experience.” Nancy Werlin, National Book Award honoree and New York Times bestseller
2016-03-16T01:29:02+00:00
“Two unique girls, thrown together in a time of change and danger. One transcendent reading experience.” Nancy Werlin, National Book Award honoree and New York Times bestseller

New York Times

"I stayed up all night reading it and had tears in my eyes almost the entire time ... I found it magnificent."  New York Times Book Review.
2016-06-20T08:32:26+00:00
"I stayed up all night reading it and had tears in my eyes almost the entire time ... I found it magnificent."  New York Times Book Review.

Printz Honor

Winner of a 2017 American Library Association Michael L. Printz Honor for literary excellence in books for young adults.
2017-01-30T14:28:09+00:00
Winner of a 2017 American Library Association Michael L. Printz Honor for literary excellence in books for young adults.

YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten

Named to the YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults list for 2017 as a Top Ten Title.
2017-01-30T14:31:43+00:00
Named to the YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults list for 2017 as a Top Ten Title.

NOW IN PAPERBACK

The Passion of Dolssa, published by Viking Children's Books.
A 2017 Michael L. Printz Honor title.
A New York Times Notable Book.
A Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.
Five Starred Reviews.

The Passion of Dolssa

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place, a middle grade murder mystery from Roaring Brook.

 

“Stunning. Hilarious. And wholly original. If David Sedaris and Agatha Christie had a child, it would be Julie Berry.”
Holly Goldberg Sloan, bestselling author of Counting by 7s.

 

“Romance blooms in unexpected places, and danger lurks around every corner in this delightfully farcical tale.”
Publisher’s Weekly, starred review.

 

All the Truth That’s In Me, a YA novel from Viking (Penguin Books). A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten title, nominated for the MWA Edgar award for YA.

Five starred reviews. A best teen book of 2013 (Kirkus) and a best book of 2013 (SLJ). Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal.

“Stunning … Every now and then, a novel comes along with such an original voice that readers slow down to savor the poetic prose. This is such a story. A tale of uncommon elegance, power and originality.”
Kirkus, starred review.

Boston Globe review

Saturated with repressed longing. Mesmerizing. Berry’s language undulates and flows. The Boston Globe
2013-09-25T22:38:25+00:00
Saturated with repressed longing. Mesmerizing. Berry’s language undulates and flows. The Boston Globe

School Library Journal

“An expertly crafted piece of historical fiction, Berry’s latest is a must for middle and high school libraries.” School Library...
2016-03-16T01:22:20+00:00
“An expertly crafted piece of historical fiction, Berry’s latest is a must for middle and high school libraries.” School Library Journal, starred review

Publishers Weekly

"Berry again delivers an utterly original and instantly engrossing story…she weaves a tense, moving portrait of these two teenage girls...
2016-03-16T01:25:09+00:00
"Berry again delivers an utterly original and instantly engrossing story…she weaves a tense, moving portrait of these two teenage girls and their struggle to survive against insurmountable odds.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

Mette Ivie Harrison

“A beautiful and timeless tale of family and loyalty, friendship and devotion.” Mette Ivie Harrison, author of New York Times...
2016-03-16T01:26:23+00:00
“A beautiful and timeless tale of family and loyalty, friendship and devotion.” Mette Ivie Harrison, author of New York Times Notable Book The Bishop’s Wife

Jennifer Donnelly

“Powerful and heartbreaking, The Passion of Dolssa shows us that the voices of dissent can only be silenced for so...
2016-03-16T01:27:33+00:00
“Powerful and heartbreaking, The Passion of Dolssa shows us that the voices of dissent can only be silenced for so long. Their echoes carry down the centuries, sounding warnings for our own time. Julie Berry writes the past as if she lived it.” Jennifer Donnelly, New York Times bestselling author of These Shallow Graves